top of page

Silk #1 Review

The Facts:

  • Silk has become her own title character after appearing in the Amazing Spider-Man and Spider-Verse series.

  • Even though this is Silk’s stand-alone series, reading the lead-up starting with The Amazing Spider-man #4 and the Spider-Verse series would be helpful.

  • Written by Robbie Thompson, art by Stacey Lee, colours by Ian Herring.

silk02.jpg

Pros:

  • I enjoy Thompson's take on the relationship between Cindy (Silk) and Peter (Spider-Man). They are slightly awkward and unsure with one another and at the moment their relationship is veering more towards friendship. I think this is an appropriate choice as it’s too soon for any sort of romance.

  • Marvel is once again adding a female lead, this time of Asian-American heritage. I enjoy that we are getting a diverse group of characters that aren’t completely stereotypical.

  • I think Thompson's use of flashbacks really helps solidify Cindy Moon’s character and I liked learning more about her.

  • Lee's artwork is reminiscent of many manga/anime works but it maintains a unique vibe. It's cute and fits Cindy Moon's story.

  • Lee makes good use of perspective so you feel the dizzying height of the buildings. I like how we see both full panels and close ups of the fights. It lends great flow to the panels and you get the fast-motion feeling of flying on Spidey Silk. Lee positions her characters carefully in the frames so they are interesting but don’t look crowded. I also like that the emphasis remains on the characters and not on the backgrounds.

  • Silk’s Suit is fabulous and I love how her mask turns into a headband. Attention to the little details really adds to the fun of the comic.

  • Herring’s colours are vibrant, bright and really bring liveliness to the artwork. I like the muted tones of the flashbacks that contrast and create separation from the present.

silk04.png

Cons:

silk01.jpg

  • Although I liked the story, I felt it could have easily been “a day in the life of Spider-Man”. The wisecracks and quips during battle, being late for work at the Daily Bugle, Cindy offering Silk as a story to Jameson, these all seem very Peter Parker-esk.

I-Hate-You-300x114.jpg

Overall: 7/10

  • I enjoyed the comic but I want Thompson to continue defining Cindy Moon as her own lead character. Discovering Cindy’s background, learning what drives her, and seeing how the bunker really affected her life was fantastic – and that’s what I want more of. I already read and love Spider-Man; I'm reading this series for Silk.

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram Classic

I’M ALWAYS HAPPY

TO GET TO KNOW MY READERS AND SHARE INSIGHTS AND IDEAS. 

 

DROP ME A LINE 

Your details were sent successfully!

bottom of page